How wrong was I about almost everything 10 years ago? Or 1 year ago? Or am I just growing?

Since 2020, we had the longest lockdown in Melbourne, Australia. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-10-03/melbourne-longest-lockdown/100510710

On any dark side, there is always a sunny side as well. Initially, there was some stress in my family. In retrospect, the fact that I was at home all the time was the biggest source of the stress!

As for myself, I actually appreciated the fact that I gained more time. (We were lucky as our children are big enough to be able to control themselves etc.)

Using this additional free time, my life has changed so much in a better way over the last 1.5 years. After many things settled down, I started various life hacks at a faster pace since this year, probably after around April. There was no single magic bullet that changed everything. But accumulation of many changes have culminated in substantial changes.

In some meetings, I have been suggesting some life hack techniques to my lab members. Some seem to have liked it and have been implementing it. It seems to have improved their life as well. Hope to see their improvement in productivity soon!

As I talk with these younger people, now I realise how bad my style was in almost every aspect of my life 10 years ago. Food, exercise, sleep, time management.

And I have now realised how wrong I was 1 year ago, almost about everything. I mean, the way I was doing things was definitely not the best for me. I’ve found a lot of better alternatives now.

In the course of these events, one key factor that I learned was 50% of our everyday life consists of automatic habits. So, knowing the way to change habits is pretty efficient as a starter.

For that purpose, one of the most useful books may be “9 things successful people do differently” by Heidi Grant Halvorson https://www.amazon.com/Nine-Things-Successful-People-Differently-ebook/dp/B073SCL2GJ/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1636143886&sr=8-1

This short book was extremely useful for me to start new habits and quit old ones.

How far can I go with this? Alas, the lock down is finally lifted! Hopefully, there is a bright side to it, too.

Author: Naotsugu Tsuchiya

Trying to find the physical basis of consciousness and to optimize my life habit amap. Please subscribe our lab's Youtube channel http://tinyurl.com/ue3vayzr.l

One thought on “How wrong was I about almost everything 10 years ago? Or 1 year ago? Or am I just growing?”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started